International Association of Universities
The Global Voice of Higher Education
EN  |   FR

Home

United Nations - The High-Level Political Forum 2020

The High-Level Political Forum (HLPF) is the yearly conference of the United Nations where governments, UN Agencies and civil society come together to discuss the achievements that have been made towards Agenda 2030. This year, the HLPF 2020 was held virtually and was dedicated to “ Accelerated action and transformative pathways: realizing the decade of action and delivery for sustainable development ”.

As the most global university association contributing to Sustainable Development and having the Consultative Status (the highest status granted by the United Nations to non-governmental organizations) with the Economic and Social Council, IAU took an active part in the debates again this year and co-organized a series of virtual events, together with partners and Members.

Thank you to all who joined the events and engaged in the conversation about how Higher Education is key for achieving the SDGs !

- IAU AT THE HLPF 2020 IN BRIEF:
Click on the links below to learn more about each event!

- IAU Report on IAU Global Cluster on HESD (2019-2020)


PAST EVENTS

>> 7 July 2020 | 14:00 - 15:30 EDT (20:00 - 21:30 CEST): ‘Developing transformational partnerships to catalyze SDGs implementation’
A workshop co-organized by UNODC. IAU Secretary General, Dr Hilligje van’t Land, was part of the panel and shared her experience on multi-stakeholder partnerships with higher education.

WATCH THE REPLAY!

>> 8 July 2020 | 8 - 10 a.m. EDT (14:00 - 16:00 CEST): HESI (Higher Education Sustainability Initiative) Virtual event.
IAU is part of the Higher Education Sustainability Initiative and co-organized this event. IAU Secretary General, Dr Hilligje van’t Land, moderated the main panel discussion with the participation of Stefania Giannini, UNESCO, and representatives from Academia and UN bodies.

WATCH THE REPLAY!


>> 8 July 2020 | 10:15 a.m. - 11:15 a.m. EDT (16:15 - 17:15 CEST): International Green Gown Awards (IGGA) Virtual Ceremony.
IAU is partner of the IGGA. IAU sat on the judging panel, and IAU Secretary General, Dr Hilligje van’t Land, presented the winner for ‘Sustainability Institution of the year’ at the ceremony.

WATCH THE REPLAY ON YouTube!



>> 9-10 July 2020 | over 100 universities from about 65 countries gathered to explore how academia as a sector can support the Decade of Action on the SDGs, particularly in the new era of COVID-19. Hilligje van’t Land, IAU Secretary General and Joanna Newman (ACU) were part of the discussion panel on 9 July.
Learn more about this meeting here.

>> 13 July 2020 | 9 - 10:30 a.m. EDT (15 - 16:30 CEST): ‘Teaching, Learning and Integrating the SDGs at universities and beyond - Linking to the Decade of Action
IAU co-organized this workshop with ACU/AUF, ICAE and the SDG Academy. IAU partners and representatives from IAU Members were on the panel. The discussion was moderated by the session partners, including IAU Secretary General.
Read the programme here

WATCH THE REPLAY ON YouTube!

>> 14 July 2020 | 8 – 8:50 a.m. EDT (14 - 14:50 CEST): SDG Acceleration Actions Portal, Presentation of the new website to register SDG-related actions by UN DESA/USG.
Organized by UN DESA , this event aimed to showcase and galvanize ambitious new SDG Acceleration Actions by governments and other actors to contribute to the Decade of Action and Delivery in the context of post COVID-19 realities.

WATCH THE REPLAY!

>> 15 July 2020 | 8 - 10 a.m. EDT (14 - 16:00 CEST): HESI Event #2: So what? How will we Redesign the Future of Further and higher Education
This HESI Roundtable built on the discussions of the HESI Annual Event at the HLPF reflecting on how the Higher Education can come together to redesign the future of further and higher education.

WATCH THE REPLAY ON YouTube!


LEARN MORE ABOUT THE HLPF 2020 HERE AND ACCESS THE FULL PROGRAMME HERE.

NGO in official partnership with UNESCO in associate status
International Association of Universities, UNESCO House, 1 rue Miollis, 75732 Paris cedex 15, France
Contact  |   Sitemap  |   Terms of use  |   Credits